Atlantic Technological University

GMIT, IT Sligo and LYIT (CUA) to become Atlantic Technological University in Spring 2022

The Minister for Higher Education, Simon Harris announced on Tuesday the name of the Technological University in the west and north-west as the Atlantic Technological University (ATU).


The move follows an application from the Galway-Mayo, Sligo and Letterkenny institutes of technology to come together to gain technological university status.

Minister for Further and Higher Education Simon Harris confirmed that the university is due to be formally established on April 1st next year.

Where did they get the name? Following extensive consultation, a shortlist of names was produced and discussed with the Department of Higher and Further Education and Minister Harris resulting in the chosen name – Atlantic Technological University.

The three institutes said the new name reflects the “deep connections to the region and our ability and ambition to impact at a national and international scale”.

They said it also expresses an “It expresses a sense of place, incorporating aspiration, scale and geography. It speaks to our unique perspective as an island in the Atlantic Ocean that makes waves on an international stage. The new TU’s name was chosen through extensive research and consultation with students, staff, and stakeholders across industry and education.”

Minister Simon Harris says: “I am pleased to be able to announce the name of Ireland’s fourth technological university and that, subject to the relevant legislative processes being completed, the date of establishment of the Atlantic Technological University shall be 1 April 2022.

This means that students of the current three Institutes who graduate in this academic year of 2021/2022 and henceforth in the west and north-west will do so with university qualifications.”


Article information is taken from, western